8 Best Weighted Vests for Running in 2024

Reviewed by: Ernesto Mendez (Orthopedic Clinical Specialist)

Ah, running… Probably the most well-known workout in the world. Who hasn’t at least given it a go? Have you tried adding weight gadgets to it, and do you know how the best weighted vest for running can help your runs?

Let’s just cut to the chase — running is amazing. It’s incredibly beneficial for your health, boosting both your mental and physical well-being, and — it’s fun. But… What do you do when you’ve been running for years and now it’s getting repetitive, less challenging, and dare I say, boring?

Elite weight jacket for running

In a Hurry? Skip to Our Pick

The Hyperwear Hyper Vest Elite stands out as the top choice in weighted vests. Its soft and comfortable Cordura nylon fabric provides a snug fit, relieving stress from the shoulders.

I’ll tell you what to do — you spice things up by adding weight to your running! Weighted vests were designed so that athletes can increase resistance while exercising. And you can utilize these vests for running, as well.

Jogging with weight vest

Today, I’ll be introducing you to the 8 best weight vests currently on the market, as well as enlightening you with all the benefits of running with a weighted vest.

Top 8 Best Weighted Vests for Running Reviewed:

  1. Hyperwear Hyper Vest Elite – Top Pick
  2. ZELUS Weighted Vest – Budget Pick
  3. Hyperwear Hyper Vest FIT – Best For Women
  4. WOLF TACTICAL Adjustable Weighted Vest – Best For Men
  5. Prodigen Running Weight Vest – Comfortable And Flexible
  6. RUNmax Adjustable Weighted Vest
  7. CAP Barbell Adjustable Weighted Vest – Best For Larger Frame
  8. miR Air Flow Weighted Vest
ProductExpert ScoreDesignDurabilityAdjustabilitComfortPrice/Quality
Hyperwear Hyper Vest Elite4.84.85.04.64.94.9
ZELUS Weighted Vest4.74.74.94.44.35.0
Hyperwear Hyper Vest FIT4.64.65.04.64.24.8
WOLF TACTICAL Weighted Vest4.64.75.04.64.54.1
Prodigen Running Weight Vest4.54.64.44.54.54.4
RUNmax Adjustable Weighted Vest4.44.34.64.44.14.8
CAP Barbell Adjustable Weighted Vest4.34.14.44.14.44.5
miR Air Flow Weighted Vest4.24.24.34.14.14.2

1. Hyperwear Hyper Vest Elite

Top Pick

Hyperwear Hyper Vest Elite Weighting Vest

Hyperwear Hyper Vest Elite

This weighting vest provides well-balanced weight distribution ensures a comfortable workout, and the adjustable small steel weights allow for personalized progression.

Design:

0

Durability:

0

Adjustability:

0

Comfort:

0

Price/Quality:

0

Expert Score:

0
Hyperwear Hyper Vest Elite Weighting Vest

It only makes sense to start the list off with my favorite. Also… this weighted vest is so good. I just can’t help myself but mention it right away. The Hyperwear Hyper Vest Elite is the best the market currently offers.

  • Material: Cordura, Alloy Steel
  • Closure Type: Zipper
  • Weight Type: Galvanized Steel Weights
  • Adjustability: Adjustable With Side Laces
  • Best For: Men and Women
  • Color: Black Reflective
  • Special Features: Reflective

The first thing you’ll notice about this vest is how comfortable it is. It’s made from soft nylon fabric (Cordura) that feels great against your skin. The comfort factor can be a deal breaker because these types of vests are meant to hug your body and be pretty snug. So, if it doesn’t feel comfortable, your workout is kind of ruined.

The snug fit means it really hugs your torso tight, which is a good thing because it means it removes the stress from your shoulders.

If you’ve ever tried a weighted vest, you probably noticed some of them aren’t that great at distributing the weight. But no such issues with this one! The weight is very well balanced.

Another thing I want to mention — this vest is very adjustable. It comes with small steel weights that you can just easily add or remove to make the vest weigh whatever is most comfortable for you. The weight adjustability is super important because it means you can progress at your own pace.

Now, the durability of the vest is definitely a highlight, as the vest is made of Cordura nylon, which is a type of nylon fabric famous for its strength. It will also hold its shape no matter what you put it through (obviously, not everything you put it through, but you get the point — it’s tough!)

The only drawback I noticed is with sizing; it may be a bit of an issue if you’re very tall. The XL size, which is the largest, might be a bit short, and you may end up looking like you’re wearing a crop top. But you can still benefit from its weight; the flaw I mentioned is purely cosmetic.

Pros:

  • Snug fit
  • Made of soft nylon fabric
  • Good weight distribution
  • Easy to adjust to the desired weight

Cons:

  • Not ideal for very tall people

2. ZELUS Weighted Vest

Budget Pick

ZELUS Weighted Vest

ZELUS Weighted Vest

This budget-friendly weighted vest offers excellent quality at an unbeatable price. Its convenient storage pockets can be detached if not needed, and the elastic straps ensure easy adjustability and a secure fit during workouts.

Design:

0

Durability:

0

Adjustability:

0

Comfort:

0

Price/Quality:

0

Expert Score:

0
ZELUS Weighted Vest

I’m so happy that today’s budget pick is also the second-best vest on the list! This vest is of great quality, and at that price… Phew! You can’t beat it.

  • Weight: 6 lbs.
  • Material: Neoprene
  • Closure Type: Buckle
  • Weight Type: Iron Sand
  • Adjustability: Adjustable With Elastic Straps
  • Best For: Men and Women
  • Color: Black
  • Special Features: Detachable Front Zipper Pockets

One standout feature of this vest is its storage pockets. They’re very convenient if you need to take your phone or key with you on the run. But what’s even better is that they can be detached if you don’t need them!

The vest is easily adjustable thanks to its elastic straps, and stays in place during workouts. If you’ve ever tried running with a weighted vest that bounces, you know it’s beyond annoying, and it takes the focus away from your run and makes you think about the vest almost hitting you in the face.

This adjustable weighted vest for running is evenly filled with iron sand, so there’s nothing to worry about as far as weight distribution goes.

Now, I have to say that the comfort left me a bit… should I say, meh? There are supposedly pads in the shoulders, but if there are, they’re super thin and don’t really do much. The weight might dig into your shoulders a bit if you’re wearing the vest for more than an hour, and it can be uncomfortable.

But if you look at the big picture, this vest has definitely earned its place and is up there with the best of the best.

Pros:

  • Affordable
  • Detachable pockets
  • Evenly filled
  • Doesn’t move during runs

Cons:

  • Not enough padding in the shoulders

3. Hyper Vest FIT Weighted Vest

Best for Women

Hyper Vest FIT Weighted Vest

Hyperwear Hyper Vest FIT

Designed specifically for women, this weighted vest is the perfect running companion. Its adjustable design allows for easy weight customization, and the weights can be quickly removed for effortless adjustments.

Design:

0

Durability:

0

Adjustability:

0

Comfort:

0

Price/Quality:

0

Expert Score:

0
Hyper Vest FIT Weighted Vest

So far, we’ve had two vests that were designed to be worn by both men and women. But this time, men, please step aside because this one is the best women’s weighted vest for running.

  • Weight: 8 lbs.
  • Material: Polyester
  • Closure Type: Zipper
  • Weight Type: Steel Weights
  • Adjustability: Side Laces for Cinching
  • Best For: Women
  • Color: Black Metallic

I always appreciate adjustable pieces, and this one is as adjustable as it gets. The weights are stored nicely in the pockets, but they can be removed in a snap. This will allow you to adjust the weight of the vest perfectly.

Another thing I always look out for is the vest’s washability. Think about it — you’ll want to be able to toss it into the washer after a sweaty run. Once you remove the weights, the vest is ready to be tossed in the washer, and you don’t have to worry about frequent washing messing it up. It’s durable and will be with you for a long time.

Its full-zipper closure design makes it easy to put on in a hurry, and it also has elastic laces on the side that keep it from bouncing while you’re running.

I did notice something about its sizing. Although the vest does come in a few different sizes, none of them seem to be that great for petite frames. If your frame is smaller, you can still use it, but it’s probably going to be sitting on your hips. That can make it less comfortable. But if you’re fine with it being a tad longer, then give it a try!

Pros of Weighted Vest:

  • Can be cinched at the waist
  • Comfortable shoulder padding
  • Machine-washable

Cons of Weighted Vest:

  • Not ideal for small frames

4. WOLF TACTICAL Adjustable Weighted Vest

Best for Men

WOLF TACTICAL Adjustable Weighted Vest

WOLF TACTICAL Adjustable Weighted Vest

This heavy-duty vest is like a tank, built to endure tough workouts and rigorous training. The front and back pockets allow for weight customization, making it ideal for intense running sessions. Its durable design can handle sweat, dirt, and tactical training, while the oversized airflow panels ensure breathability and a contoured fit.

Design:

0

Durability:

0

Adjustability:

0

Comfort:

0

Price/Quality:

0

Expert Score:

0
WOLF TACTICAL Adjustable Weighted Vest

If this vest was a vehicle, it would be a tank. I can see you laughing, but I’m not joking at all. This is a serious piece and feels more like gym equipment than something resembling clothing.

  • Weight: 14, 20, 31, or 42 lbs.
  • Material: Nylon
  • Closure Type: Hook and Loop
  • Weight Type: Steel weights
  • Adjustability: Adjustable waist straps and bands
  • Best For: Men
  • Color: Black
  • Special Features: Oversized airflow panels

Once you get your hands on this vest, you’ll immediately notice the front and back pockets. These are meant to store your weights and make the vest adjustable because you can make it weigh anywhere from 14 to 42 lbs. Running with a 42 lbs. vest on is quite a cardio workout, am I right?

This thing is designed to hold up sweat, dirt, and rigorous tactical training. I know, I know, you want to use it for running, but it’s great to know that this is as durable as it can be.

There’s another thing that stood out to me, and that would be the oversized airflow panels that make the vest breathable and the fit contoured. A breathable weighted vest, can you believe it?

Mostly, I love this. It’s an absolute beast if you can call a vest that, and is the best men’s weight vest for running. But there’s something about it that really pushed my buttons and that would be the weights. They’re sold separately, so you really only get the vest in your package, and you have to buy the weights separately. If you do decide to get it, though, I’m sure you won’t regret it.

Pros:

  • Airflow panels make it breathable
  • Made of premium 600D nylon
  • Secure and unrestricted fit

Cons:

  • Weights are sold separately

5. Prodigen Weight Vest

Comfortable And Flexible

Prodigen Running Weight Vest

Prodigen Running Weight Vest

The eye-catching heavy running vest boasts impressive attention to detail, with double stitching for leakproof durability. Craftsmanship and precision shine through the design, making it a standout choice.

Design:

0

Durability:

0

Adjustability:

0

Comfort:

0

Price/Quality:

0

Expert Score:

0
Prodigen Running Weight Vest

This brightly colored heavy vest for running is sure to catch a lot of people's attention. But trust me when I say, it has a lot more to offer than just looks.

  • Weight: 8 lbs.
  • Width: 35–45’’
  • Material: Neoprene
  • Closure Type: Buckle
  • Weight Type: Metal rocks and iron pellets
  • Adjustability: Elastic edge and buckle strap
  • Best For: Men and Women
  • Color: Black, Blue, Gray, Purple
  • Special Features: Double stitching

This vest was made with so much attention to detail; it's astounding. The double stitching makes it leakproof. So, no matter how intense your workouts are, you won’t have to worry about any rips or tears.

And the stitches themselves… Wow. Talk about precision! I'm not someone who usually notices things like that, but the craftsmanship on this vest is next level.

Two straps with buckles make it adjustable, and it will fit you perfectly if your bust size is anywhere from 35 to 45 inches. In addition to the two buckles, the elastic straps make it flexible and comfortable.

Do you remember how much I appreciate things that can be machine washed? Well… This one can't. Bummer, I know. Another thing I noticed is that the elastic straps lose their shape a little over time. You can tighten them some more if that happens to you, too, but that can only help up to a certain point.

Still, I can't argue that this is a great vest. Not perfect, but hey… What is?

Pros:

  • Available in different colors
  • Precise double stitching
  • Wide shoulder design

Cons:

  • Can’t be machine washed
  • The elastic bands lose their shape over time

6. RUNmax Adjustable Weighted Vest

Universal for Different Types of Training

RUNmax Weighted Vest

RUNmax Weighted Vest (20 -150 lbs)

This weighted vest comes with included weights, conveniently stored in front and back pockets that allow for easy adjustments. The optional shoulder pads add extra comfort, and the sewn-in straps make gearing up a breeze.

Design:

0

Durability:

0

Adjustability:

0

Comfort:

0

Price/Quality:

0

Expert Score:

0
RUNmax Weighted Vest

I assume everyone is looking for good quality for not that much money. And it’s like that with almost everything. Usually, I don’t mind spending a few extra bucks on a good quality item, but I always get super excited when I get something amazing without breaking the bank. The RUNmax vest is one of those things — its quality is superb, and the price point is awesome.

  • Weight: 20 lbs.
  • Width: -
  • Material: Nylon
  • Closure Type: Buckle
  • Weight Type: Iron sand
  • Adjustability: Straps and buckle for adjustability
  • Best For: Men and women
  • Color: Black
  • Special Features: Phone pocket and water bottle holder

This one comes with weights included, which isn’t the case with all weighted vests, so I really appreciate it. You’ll see the pockets in both front and back that are designed to store the weights. The great thing about those pockets is that the weights can be taken out or put back in within seconds, so adjusting the weight is super simple.

This piece also has shoulder pads, which are actually optional, and you don’t have to keep them on if you don’t want them. I always like to keep the shoulder pads on because, comfort-wise, they do a lot.

Thanks to RUNmax's thoughtful design, you can gear up and get going in no time, as the straps are sewn in. And I’m not exaggerating — the whole process is crazy simple.

All in all, this is a top-notch vest, but I still have something to complain about. When you put the vest on and add the weights, it gets kind of bulky. The weights stick out more than 2 inches on each side, and I kind of feel like a chunky Terminator in it. It’s still okay for running, but there’s a chance you’ll feel a bit bulkier than you would like to.

Adjustable weighted vest for running

Pros:

  • Removable shoulder pads
  • Outstanding value for money
  • Comes with weights included

Cons:

  • Becomes bulky when weights are added

7. CAP Barbell Adjustable Weighted Vest

Best For Larger Frame

CAP Barbell Adjustable Weighted Vest

CAP Barbell Adjustable Weighted Vest

If you're looking for a reliable and no-frills weighted vest, this is the one for you. With an adjustable waist belt and elastic edges, it provides a comfortable and secure fit, making it perfect for running. The shoulder pads add extra comfort, but they are not adjustable, causing the vest to hang a bit low.

Design:

0

Durability:

0

Adjustability:

0

Comfort:

0

Price/Quality:

0

Expert Score:

0
CAP Barbell Adjustable Weighted Vest

This is a really simple, no-nonsense, straight-to-the-point vest. It's not packed with all the bells and whistles (that don't really do that much anyway); some other vests are, but its quality is fantastic, and it’s a reliable running buddy.

  • Weight: 40 lbs.
  • Width: 35–45’’
  • Material: Reinforced nylon and polyester
  • Closure Type: Hook and loop
  • Weight Type: Iron ore fines
  • Adjustability: Straps for adjustments
  • Best For: Men and women
  • Color: Black
  • Special Features: Anchor hooks designed for parachute run training

The waist belt is completely adjustable, so you can make it fit as snug as you want. It has two adjustable buckle straps, so if you're anywhere between 35'' and 45'', it'll fit you like a glove. Also, the weight is distributed evenly, so it feels comfortable.

The best thing about this vest is that it has elastic edges. Weighted vests can be a bit uncomfortable sometimes, and the weight can make it harder to move. And yes, that's the point; you want it to make you work harder, but you don't want it to obstruct your movement. The elastic straps on this one make sure that that doesn't happen. Despite the added weight, it's still comfortable for running.

A lot of you are probably going to be happy to hear it has shoulder pads, but the ones on this vest are not adjustable. This makes the vest hang a bit low. Also, I noticed that it runs a little big, and there is only one size to choose from, so keep that in mind if your frame is smaller.

Pros:

  • Elastic edges for unrestricted movement
  • Anchor hooks for parachute run training
  • Customizable weight

Cons:

  • Shoulder pads are not adjustable
  • Only one size available

8. miR Air Flow Weighted Vest

miR Air Flow Weighted Vest

miR Air Flow Weighted Vest

This vest is a must-have for any outdoor enthusiast. With its airflow design, machine washability, and lifetime warranty, it's designed to keep you cool and comfortable during your activities. The breathable fabric allows sweat to evaporate, ensuring you stay dry.

Design:

0

Durability:

0

Adjustability:

0

Comfort:

0

Price/Quality:

0

Expert Score:

0
miR Air Flow Weighted Vest

My list would not be complete without this vest, and I'll tell you why. It has an airflow design that keeps your body cooler than some other vests, and it's also machine washable. On top of that, you can even stick it in the drier after you're done washing it.

  • Weight: 20 lbs.
  • Material: Nylon
  • Closure Type: Velcro straps
  • Weight Type: Solid iron
  • Adjustability: Straps for adjustability
  • Best For: Men and women
  • Color: Black
  • Special Features: Airflow design

The first thing that caught my attention is the lifetime warranty. Anytime I see anything with a lifetime warranty, I know that the manufacturer did their absolute best to design it and is almost sure nothing will happen to it.

Another thing that's great about this vest is that it's breathable. Instead of sweating like crazy, it will allow the sweat to evaporate. Not only is that going to cool you down, but it will also keep you dry.

You'll notice it's smaller than any other vest I've discussed today. That's a good thing and a bad thing. It's great that it does not hinder any movement, and you feel freer than with a vest that's below your waist. The bad thing is, with the straps being short and the vest being small, it's hard to adjust it (and take off!) by yourself.

Pros:

  • Clam shell design
  • Breathable
  • Lifetime warranty

<